· Del Mar
· San Jose
you have four choices
we suggest you always consider an LLC
call it a sign of the times
we have taught thousands how to get licensed
enjoy the benefits of a car dealer ;license
including dmv auction access and insured car dealer license plates
· Del Mar
· San Jose
License Plate Inserts
(.015) One Color
* One time charges may apply
See below for pricing
- Model: 706 .015 1C
our teachers are the bomb
practicing car dealer attorney
we have the best classes to become a car dealer
get licensed in 30 days
Help us improve service to you and your customers by taking a moment to complete a short survey:
- Vehicle Industry Registration Procedures Manual
- Dismantler’s Handbook
- Vessel Handbook (PDF)
- Vehicle Industry News (VIN) Memos
- Occupational Licensing Industry News (OLIN) Memos
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view some of the documents in this section. To incorporate the latest accessibility features download of the latest version of Acrobat Reader may be required. If you have problems with Acrobat Reader see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.
- Electronic Title Lienholders (ELT) Table-Alphabetical Listing (PDF)
- Electronic Title Lienholders (ELT) Table-Numerical Listing (PDF)
- Vehicle License Fee (VLF) Table 0.65 percent (REG 360) (PDF)
- Vehicle License Fee (VLF) Table 1.15 percent for Park Trailers (REG 364) (PDF)
- Vehicle License Fee (VLF) Table 1.15 percent (REG 365) (PDF) New!
- Financial Institution Listing
- Vehicle Registration Fee Calculator
- Change of Address
- Notice of Transfer and Release of Liability
- Occupational License Status Information
- Requirements For a Vehicle Dealer’s License
- Motor Carrier Services
- California Vehicle Code
- Other State Motor Vehicle Departments
- Occupational Licensing
- Vehicle Smog Test History
- Ordering Large Quantities of DMV Forms
- Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights
- Lemon Law Buyback Vehicles
some people want the milk
before they pay for the cow
WE GET IT
LoJack Corporation Helps California Police Recover 13 Cars and Break Up Large Auto Theft Ring
On January 18, 2013, the owners of California Car Company contacted the Brea Police Department to report a 2004 BMW Z-3 had been stolen along with 12 other exotic cars from the lot of their dealership. Thieves broke into the car lot office, located the keys and were able to, for the time being, get away with it.
Brea Police verified the theft and entered the vehicle information along with the 12 other vehicles into the state and federal crime computers, which automatically activated the LoJack transponder concealed in the BMW.
Out of the 13 vehicles that were stolen, the BMW-Z-3 was the only vehicle equipped with a LoJack Stolen Vehicle Recovery System. A short time later, Los Angeles Sheriff’s Air-7 flight deputies picked up the silent LoJack signal, tracked and located the vehicle parked, and unoccupied, at a motel. Detectives and ground units were notified.
Prior to any of the assisting ground units arrival, a male and female were seen entering the vehicle and drove off. Apparently, when the male driver saw the helicopter, he fled at a high speed trying to out run the airship. Air-7 followed the vehicle, giving the direction of travel to ground units. The BMW blew out a tire, exited the freeway and entered a mall parking lot in the city of Pico Rivera. One suspect was arrested on site.
So far in the case, there have been four suspects arrested and charged. Furthermore, all 13 cars have been recovered. They are identified as a 2007 Maserati, 2009 Mustang, 2008 Mustang, 2008 Mercedes E350, 2005 Audi A-4, 2004 BMW M-3 (LoJack equipped), 2006 Bentley, 2012 Chevrolet Camaro, 2002 BMW 745, 2002 Mercedes 600, 2005 Mercedes SLK350, 2011 Hyundai Genesis and a 2008 BMW 28I.
The LoJack Stolen Vehicle Recovery System was installed in the 2004 BMW Z-3 on 10-3-2005 at BMW Gallery in Norwood, MA. The estimated value of recovered cars is $250,000.
For local coverage of this story please visit the links below:
NOTE: Portions of the story were obtained from Brea Police Department and the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department
get licensed in 30 days
dmv dealer plate use from the california code of regulations
BARCLAYS OFFICIAL CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
TITLE 13. MOTOR VEHICLES
DIVISION 1. DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 1. DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
ARTICLE 3.3. SPECIAL PLATES
This database is current through 8/16/13
§ 201.00. Use of Special Plates Issued to a Dealer, Manufacturer, Remanufacturer, or Distributor.
(a) Special plates referenced in this section may only be used on vehicles that a dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or distributor owns or lawfully possesses.
(b) The following individuals may operate a vehicle with special plates for any purpose:
(1) An individual who is the sole owner, a general partner, a manager of a limited liability company, or a corporate officer or director of a dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or distributor, provided that individual is actively engaged in the management and control of the business operations of the dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or distributor;
(2) A general manager, or business manager, or sales manager who is actively engaged in the management and control of the business operations of the dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or distributor when no other individual meets the criteria in (1) above;
(3) An individual employed by a manufacturer or distributor and licensed as a representative.
(c) Any licensed driver may operate a vehicle with special plates for any purpose if an individual identified in section (b) is also in the vehicle.
(1) An unaccompanied licensed driver, who regularly resides in the immediate household of an individual identified in section (b), may operate a vehicle with special plates solely to pick up or drop off that individual.
(d) A licensed driver who is an employee of a dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer or distributor may drive a vehicle with special plates when that employee is acting within the course and scope of his or her employment.
(e) Any licensed driver may operate a vehicle with dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or distributor special plates for special event purposes if the operator carries a letter of authorization from the licensee identifying the vehicle, duration, and location of operation, and person(s) authorized to operate the vehicle.
(f) Any licensed driver, who is a prospective buyer or lessee, may test drive a vehicle with special plates for up to seven days.
(1) A salesperson is not required to be present.
(2) If a salesperson is not present, the operator must carry a letter of authorization from the licensee identifying the vehicle, duration, and person(s) authorized to operate the vehicle.
(g) Employees of a commercial vehicle dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or distributor who must operate a commercial vehicle in the course of their employment, may take a commercial drive test in a commercial vehicle displaying dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or distributor special plates.
(h) A trailer, displaying special plates, may be towed by a vehicle with Vehicle Code authority to operate on the highways.
(i) Any use of special plates issued to a dealer, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or distributor except as specified is prohibited.
Note: Authority cited: Section 1651, Vehicle Code. Reference: Sections 11714, 11715 and 11716, Vehicle Code.
To subscribe to the e-mail alert service logon to www.emailalert.dmv.ca.gov/subscriptions.asp.
This page contains detailed instructions on how to subscribe.
The Industry Tools Home Page located at
provides convenient access to information and links that are pertinent to the vehicle registration industry.
certified dmv dealer education
we make it simple for you
2-Part Buyers Guides
(100 per pack)
- Model: JF 327
we figure you will need $ 300. per month to legally operate
we estimate your wholesale
home based part time car dealer license
your car dealer bond $ 300.
your car dealer training $ 150.
your car dealer insurance $ 1800.
your car dealer license $ 150.
your car dealer plates $ 150.
your car dealer forms $ 200.
your car dealer office expenses $ 500.
your car dealer auction access $ 100.
your car dealer checking account $ 250.
get licensed with our car dealer school
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Vehicle history reports are typically available online from several sources. Vehicle history reports are available for automobiles including light trucks and SUVs, motorcycles, recreational vehicles (RVs) and pre-1981 classic cars (1, 2, 7).
Vehicle history reports
Before purchasing a used vehicle, potential buyers often consider the purchase of vehicle history and title reports and salvage check reports to understand a vehicle’s background history. Users are generally interested in whether a vehicle that is being considered for purchase has been in a severe accident, had its odometer rolled back or has lemon history. Sellers of vehicles also check the history of their vehicle prior to listing for sale so they are prepared to answer questions to the condition of the vehicle or history events. Dealers often buy these reports that provide a detailed background on the used vehicle to show their customers. Dealers also run reports prior to acquiring vehicles at auction or from trade-ins to help insure they pay a fair market value. Vehicle prices may be adjusted due to history events on any particular vehicle.
A vehicle history report provides information and often detailed records associated with a vehicle’s unique serial number or VIN.
|Title information||Shows if the vehicle has been reported to have been issued a negative title “brand” like salvage or junk that often come with severe accidents|
|Number of titles||Shows the reported ownership history and the possible ownership changes|
|States of title||Provides the states that the vehicle has been reported titled or registered in previously|
|Salvage or junk information from titles or other sources||Shows if the vehicle has been reported as a salvage vehicle by a state or has been reported at auction or junk yard|
|DMV-reported odometer problems||Shows when the vehicle has been reported to having had its odometer rolled back or broken|
|Lemon history||Shows if the vehicle has a been reported as a lemon|
|Insurance total loss information||Shows if the vehicle has been reported as a total loss by an insurance company|
|Auction history||Lets the buyer know if it has been reported at an auto auction|
|Accident history||Shows if the vehicle has been in a reported accident or has sustained damage|
|Air bag deployment||Shows whether or not the vehicle’s airbag has been reported as deployed|
|Mileage readings||Lists the odometer readings that have been reported for the vehicle|
|Service records||Shows any reported service information|
|State emission inspection results||Shows the results of a state inspection or emission results as reported by the state|
|Warranty or service contract availability||Shows whether or not the vehicle has been covered by warranty or service contract|
A Salvage and VIN Check Report is an abbreviated version of a Vehicle History and Title Report, which helps consumers understand the severity reported damage associated with a vehicle. It identifies the reported title brands such as salvage or junk, or whether the vehicle has been reported a total loss by an insurance company. These reports can be obtained for passenger cars and light trucks, as well as motorcycles, RVs, heavy trucks and classic cars.
Vehicle History and Title Report data is gathered from multiple sources including State Departments of Motor Vehicles, automotive auctions, fire and police departments, salvage auctions, rental agencies, automotive recyclers, insurance companies, state inspection stations, manufacturers, and car dealerships.
In order to obtain a Vehicle History and Title Report, a potential buyer can go online to a reporting service provider and purchase a full report. Some services also offer a lower cost option for a Salvage and VIN Check Report, which has just the major damage history. Salvage and VIN Check reports can be accessed online from a number of companies, at varying cost. Used car dealers often provide a report upon request for a specific vehicle as part of the selling process. Consumers can check the validity and date of these reports by running their own report and comparing the results. Old reports may not contain the latest history as the reports are time sensitive. Typically, a consumer is most interested in whether or not the vehicle has been in a severe accident or has been branded as salvage, junk or totaled.
National Motor Vehicle Title Information System
The National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) is a program of Department of Justice intended to keep and protect consumers from fraud and unsafe vehicles. AAMVA operates the system now. Federal Law has mandated businesses and agencies such as Insurance Carriers, State Motor Vehicle Tilting Agencies, Auto Recyclers and Junk/Salvage Yards to regularly report to NMVTIS. The NMVTIS refers the public to a list of approved private vendors who sell vehicle reports from the NMVTIS database.
NMVTIS has a wide database of over 9,000 numbers of Insurance carriers, auto recyclers and junk and salvage yards reporting to them and 38.9 million records of salvage or total loss, making up 87% of DMV data represents the system.
Consumers can take advantage of having a Vehicle History Report from this reliable system where they can view data such as Title Problem Checks, Odometer Checks, History of Accidents and Junk or Salvage Records.
View Prices » Register Now »VinAudit.com makes it easy:
Get full, online NMVTIS vehicle reports you can save, email, or print.
Access instant reports through our web, desktop, and mobile interfaces.
Members can order warning stickers for 25 cents per sticker.
We offer the lowest prices among first-level NMVTIS providers.
What is AB1215?
California Assembly Bill 1215 requires that all licensed auto dealers in California run vehicle history reports through the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) for each used vehicle sold, with a red warning sticker required on vehicles reported to be salvage, total loss, or title-branded.
More on AB1215 » More on NMVTIS »
- $20 per month
- $1 per report
Pay month-by-month, expect no other fees, and cancel at any time.
How do I get started?
Simply register below to get a VinAudit.com dealer account below, and start running NMVTIS reports in minutes.
|I agree to the VA Partner Agreement.|
|I agree to the NMVTIS Disclaimer.|
Application Requirements For Vehicle Dealers Auto Commercial
- Vehicle Dealer Handbook (PDF)
- Vehicle Industry Procedures (VIP) Manual (formerly the Dealer’s Handbook)
- Autobroker’s Endorsement
- Guide for Licensed Vehicle Dealers and Lessor-Retailers (PDF)
- Occupational Licensure Product List (PDF)
- Buy/Sell Procedures for New Vehicle Dealers
Vehicle Dealer Original License Forms (Including Autobroker)
Note: Forms may be completed before printing
Please print the appropriate check list to obtain a list of all the forms and any additional documents required for each license:
- OL 248A, New Dealer Application Check List
- OL 248B, Used Dealer, Dealer-Wholesale Only, and Autobroker Application Check List
Select the appropriate link to print the forms required for each dealer packet:
- OL 248N, New Dealer Application Forms
- OL 248U, Used Dealer, Dealer-Wholesale Only,and Autobroker Application Forms
Application forms may also be printed individually from the following list:
- OL 12, Application for Original Occupational License, Part C
- OL 21A, Original Application for Occupational License, Part A
- OL 25, Surety Bond of Dealer OR
OL 25B, Surety Bond of Motorcycle Dealer, Motorcycle Lessor-Retailer, All-Terrain Vehicle Dealer, or Wholesale-Only Dealer (Less Than 25 Vehicles Per Year) OR
OL 65, Notice of Acknowledgment / OL 94, Cash Bond, with Cash Bond OR
OL 64, Assignment of Insured Account to Department of Motor Vehicles / OL 65, Notice of Acknowledgment, with Passbook or Certificate of Deposit
- OL 53, Authorization to Release Financial Information
- OL 124, Certificate of Proposed Franchise (new automobile, commercial, motorcycle, all-terrain vehicle, motorhome, and recreational trailer dealers only)
- OL 902, Property Use Verification for Vehicle Dealer’s License
- OL29, Application for Occupational License Personal History Questionnaire, Part B (Required for each person listed under ownership on form OL 12)
- ADM 9050, Appointment of Director as Agent for Service of Process
- DMV 8016, Request for Live Scan Clearance (receipt) (More information about Live Scan) (Required for each person completing form OL29)
Additional Required Application Package Documents:
- Certificate of Completion, Dealer Education Program (Used Vehicle Dealers and Wholesale-Only Dealers)
- Proof of successfully passing the Used Dealer Test administered by DMV (Used Vehicle Dealers only and Wholesale-Only Dealers)
- Letter of Authorization (New Trailer Dealers only; required for each line)
- If filing as a Corporation, Limited Liability Company or Limited Liability Partnership owned businesses only: A copy of Articles of Incorporation, Corporate Minutes or other document filed with the Secretary of State, which identifies the officers, share holders and managers.
- Copy of your Fictitious Name Statement
- Signed copy of lease or rental agreement. Proof of property ownership may be required.
- Copy of your City and/or County Business License
- Copy of Board of Equalization Resale Permit
- Photograph(s) of business location, refer to Photograph Procedures
Place of Business Inspection
After you have arranged an appointment with an Occupational Licensing Inspector he or she will inspect the place of business where the dealer conducts business.
- The office of the principal place of business and each location of the dealership must be established to the extent that its construction is not temporary, transitory, or mobile in nature, except that a trailer coach office is acceptable providing it is not part of the dealer’s vehicle inventory being offered for or subject to sale while being used as an office of the dealership and otherwise meets the requirements of the Vehicle Code. The place of business is a place actually occupied either continuously or at regular periods by the dealer. Section 320, CVC.
- Inspect all books and records pertinent to the business. CVC Section 320 (a), CVC Section 1670, and CVC Section 1671 and CCR Title 13, Section 270.00, 270.02, 270.04 and 272.00
- Inspection of Display Area (not required if wholesale only). After you have arranged an appointment with an Occupational Licensing Inspector he or she will inspect the display area to ensure:
- The display area of the principal place of business shall be of sufficient size to physically accommodate vehicles of a type for which the dealership is licensed to sell.
- The display area must be clearly for the exclusive use of the dealer for display purposes only.
- Additional display areas are permitted within a radius of 1,000 feet from the principal place of business and any licensed branch location without being subject to separate licensing. However, such display areas must also meet the signing requirement as identified in Vehicle Code Section 11709 (a).Title 13, Section 270.08, 270.08 (a) and 270.08 (b)
- Inspection of Signs (not required if Wholesale Only Dealer). After you have arranged an appointment with an Occupational Licensing Inspector he or she will inspect the sign(s) to ensure:
Signs must be of a permanent nature, erected on the exterior of the office or on the display area, and be constructed or painted and maintained so as to withstand reasonable climatic effects and be readable as provided for inCVC Section 11709. CCR, Title 13, Section 270.06
A temporary sign or device may suffice when a permanent sign is on order. Evidence of such order shall be submitted to the Department prior to issuance of a temporary permit or license. CVC Section 11709(a)
Other Permits and Licenses
Copies of the following permits and/or licenses from other agencies must be submitted with your application:
Board of Equalization Resale Permit (Revenue and Taxation Code, Section 6066 and 6067)
All licensees selling vehicles or vessels, retail or wholesale, are required to file an application for a Seller’s Permit. The purpose of the permit is to enable the licensee to collect taxes on sales. There is no fee for the permit, but a deposit may be required. Applications can be made through your local Board of Equalization office. A copy of this permit is required as part of the application for a dealer and lessor-retail license. Pursuant to California Vehicle Code Sections 11617(a)(6) and 11721(f), the Department may automatically cancel your dealer or lessor-retail license for failure to maintain a valid seller’s permit.
Pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code Section 6014, “Seller” includes every person engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property of a kind the gross receipts from the retail sale of which are required to be included in the measure of the sales tax.
Questions should be referred to BOE at (800) 400-7115 or refer to information published at Board of Equalization Publication 73(PDF).
City and/or County Business License
Licensees are required to obtain a city or county business license by the city or county licensing section in the area where the licensee is doing business. Contact your local city or county to obtain the business license. A copy of this permit is required as part of the application for a dealers license. If the City/County does not issue business licenses; a tax certificate or letter on non-issuance is required as part of the application for a dealers license.
If licensed as a Corporation, Limited Liability, or Limited Liability Partnership a copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Corporate Minutes or other document filed with the Secretary of State, which identifies the officers, share holder and managers with 10% or more interest in the business is required.
The following permits and/or licenses MAY be required by other agencies.
Dealers who will be providing automobile servicing and repair are required to file an application with their local Bureau of Automotive Repair office. The application process takes approximately six to eight weeks and includes a fee.
Bureau of Security and Investigative Service, Repossession Agency
Pursuant to the Business and Professions Code, Section 7502, no person shall engage within this state in the activities of a repossession agency as defined inSections 7500.1 and 7500.2 unless the person holds a valid repossession agency license or is exempt from licensure pursuant to Section 7500.2 or 7500.3.
Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 270
Sacramento, CA 95834
Fax (916) 575-7290
Original Application Fees
The fees to become a licensed dealer are:
- $175 Non-refundable application fee
- $1 Family Support Program fee
- $70 For each branch location (if applicable)
- $70 For each dealer plate and $72 for each motorcycle plate (plus county fees, if applicable)
- This figure will vary depending on the county where your business is located
- Dealer plates are not required
- Auto brokers are not eligible for plates (no inventory)
- $225 New Motor Vehicle Board Fee, per location (new automobile, commercial, motorcycle, ATV, motorhome, and recreational trailer dealers only)
- $100 Autobroker Endorsement fee
The Family Support Program fee is paid on original and renewal applications.
Vehicle Dealer License Renewal Forms and Fees
- Proof of Continuing Education (required every two years)
- OL 45, Renewal Application
- OL 56, $50,000 Bond Exemption Application (Wholesale-Only Dealers, if applicable)
- OL 247, Special Plates (required if not renewing all plates)
- OL 257, Continuing Education Exemption Application (Wholesale-Only Dealer, if applicable)
The fees to renew a dealer license are:
- $1 Family Support Program fee
- $125 Renewal application fee
- $69 for each auto plate and $71 for each motorcycle plate (each dealer plate)(plus county fees, if applicable)
- $225 New Motor Vehicle Board Fee, per location (new automobile, commercial, motorcycle, ATV, motorhome, and recreational trailer dealers only)
- $75 Autobroker Endorsement fee
The Family Support Program fee is paid on original and renewal applications.
Vehicle Dealer License Modification Forms and Fees
Dealer License Exemption
A dealer who does not have an established place of business in this state but who is currently authorized to do business as, and who has an established place of business as a vehicle dealer in another state is not subject to licensure under this article if the business transacted in California is limited to the importation of vehicles for sale to, or the export of vehicles purchased from, persons licensed in California under CVC Section 11700 et seq., and CVC Section 11700.1.
Dealer License Exclusions
The term “dealer” does not include any of the following:
- Insurance companies, banks, finance companies, public officials, or any other person coming into possession of vehicles in the regular course of business, who sells vehicles under a contractual right or obligation, in performance of any official duty, or in authority of any court of law, if the sale is for the purpose of saving the seller from loss or pursuant to the authority of a court.
- Persons who sell or distribute vehicles of a type subject to registration for a manufacturer to vehicle dealers under this code, or who are employed by manufacturers or distributors to promote the sale of vehicles dealt in by those manufacturers or distributors. However, any of those persons who also sell vehicles at retail are vehicle dealers and subject to this code.
- Persons regularly employed as salespersons by vehicle dealers licensed under this code while acting in the scope of that employment.
- Persons engaged exclusively in the bona fide business of exporting vehicles or of soliciting orders for the sale and delivery of vehicles outside the territorial limits of the United States, if no federal excise tax is legally payable or refundable on any of the transactions. Persons not engaged exclusively in the bona fide business of exporting vehicles, but who are engaged in the business of soliciting orders for the sale and delivery of vehicles, outside the territorial limits of the United States are exempt from licensure as dealers only if their sales of vehicles produce less than 10 percent of their total gross revenue from all business transacted.
- Persons not engaged in the purchase or sale of vehicles as a business, who dispose of any vehicle acquired and used in good faith, for their own personal use, or for use in their business, and not for the purpose of avoiding the provisions of this code.
- Persons who are engaged in the purchase, sale or exchange of vehicles, other than motorcycles subject to identification under this code, which are not intended for use on the highways.
- Persons temporarily retained as auctioneers solely for the purpose of disposing of vehicle stock inventories by means of public auction on behalf of the owners at the owner’s place of business, or as otherwise approved by the department, if intermediate physical possession or control of, or an ownership interest in, the inventory is not conveyed to the persons as retained.
- Persons who are engaged exclusively in the business of purchasing, selling, servicing, or exchange racing vehicles, parts for racing vehicles and trailers designed and intended by the manufacturer to be used exclusively for carrying racing vehicles. A “racing vehicle” is defined as a motor vehicle of a type used exclusively in a contest of speed or in a competitive trial of speed which is not intended for use on the highways.
- Any person who is a lessor.
- Any person who is a renter.
- Any salvage pool.
- Any yacht broker who is subject to the Yacht and Ship Brokers Act (Article 2 (commencing with Section 700) of Chapter 5 of Division 3 of the Harbors and Navigations Code) and who sells boat trailers in conjunction with the sale of a vessel.
- Any licensed automobile dismantler who sells vehicles that have been reported for dismantling as provided in Vehicle Code Section 11520.
- The Director of Corrections when selling vehicles pursuant to Section 2813.5 of the Penal Code.
Any public or private nonprofit charitable, religious, or educational institution or organization that sells vehicles if all of the following conditions are met:
- The proceeds of the sale of the vehicles are retained by that institution or organization for its charitable, religious, or educational purposes.
- The vehicles sold were donated to the institution or organization.
- They meet all of the applicable equipment requirements of Vehicle Code Division 12 (commencing with Section 24000) and have been issued a certificate pursuant to Section 44015 of the Health and Safety Code.
- The institution or organization has qualified for state tax-exempt status underSection 23701d of the Revenue and Taxation code, and federal tax-exempt status under Section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.
Any motor club, as defined in Section 12142 of the Insurance Code, that does not arrange or negotiate individual motor vehicle purchase transactions on behalf of its members but refers members to a new motor vehicle dealer for the purchase of a new motor vehicle and does not receive a fee from the dealer contingent upon the sale of the vehicle.
California Vehicle Code. Sections 20, 285 – 286, 320(a), 426, 3000 et seq., 5753, 8803, 10750 10751, 11700 et seq., 11800, and 11824. The California Vehicle Code is available for purchase from the Department of Motor Vehicles.
California Code of Regulations . Title 13, Chapter 1.
Business and Professions Code . Sections 9889.50-9889.53, and 17500.5.
Civil Code . Sections 2981-2984.4.
Government Code . Section 6157 (a) – (d).
Health and Safety Code . Sections 43150-43156, 43200-43213, and 43600-43660.
You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 5 or greater) to view some of the linked documents on this page. If you have problems with Acrobat Reader see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.
Application Questions and Submission Information
Please refer to the Vehicle Dealer Handbook (PDF)